We are searching for

Please wait. This should take only a few seconds.

Car Safety Ratings

Car Safety Ratings

When purchasing an automobile, car safety ratings are crucial. Making sure your new vehicle is dependable and safe is important in providing peace of mind and greater enjoyment of your overall driving experience. Vehicle safety ratings offer important details about a car's performance and safety features, plus they are something you can see on the vehicle history reports you run here at GoodCar. Let us show you why it is so necessary to examine exactly what automobile safety ratings are, how they're calculated, and what the various ratings imply.

What Are Car Safety Ratings?

Car safety ratings are assessments of a vehicle's crashworthiness and safety features. The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS), and Euro NCAP are just a few of the organizations that establish these ratings. Each group has its own set of evaluation criteria, but they all strive to inform customers about a car's safety performance.

How Are Car Safety Ratings Determined?

Car safety ratings are calculated using a series of tests that are intended to mimic actual collision scenarios. Depending on the company performing the testing, these tests may vary, although they often involve frontal and side impacts, rollovers, and accident avoidance.

How Are Car Safety Ratings Determined?

The NHTSA does rollover tests in addition to front and side collision tests. These tests assess a vehicle's crashworthiness and its capacity to safeguard occupants in the event of a collision. The NHTSA additionally performs crash avoidance tests, which assess a vehicle's capacity to prevent collisions by utilizing safety technologies like automated emergency braking and lane departure warning.

The IIHS performs tests that are comparable to those of the NHTSA, but it additionally assesses a car's headlights and its capability to safeguard passengers in minor overlap collisions. Small overlap collisions occur when a vehicle strikes a surface or another vehicle at an angle rather than directly overhead or to the side.

The European organization Euro NCAP does testing akin to those done by the NHTSA and IIHS, but it also assesses how well a vehicle will protect pedestrians in an accident.

What Do the Different Car Safety Ratings Mean?

The NHTSA awards automobiles a star rating out of five, with five being the highest. A vehicle with a five-star rating has superior crash protection and safety equipment. An automobile with a four-star rating has above-average crash protection, whereas one with a three-star rating offers ordinary crash protection.

The IIHS has a different rating methodology. Top Safety Pick+ is the highest grade, and it assigns automobiles one of two ratings: Top Safety Pick+ or Top Safety Pick. A car must perform well in all IIHS crash tests and feature advanced or superior front collision prevention technology in order to get the Top Safety Pick+ designation.

Furthermore, there is yet another system employed by the NCAP in Europe. The highest rating given by Euro NCAP is five stars, with one star being the lowest. The European safety organization assesses a car's safety performance In a number of different areas, such as adult occupant protection, child occupant protection, pedestrian protection, and safety assist features.

What Should You Look for In Car Safety Ratings?

While shopping for a new vehicle, you ought to focus on those with excellent safety ratings. In the case of a collision, a vehicle with a high safety rating is more likely to protect you and your passengers. Also, search for a vehicle with cutting-edge safety technologies like lane departure warning, blind spot monitoring, and automated emergency braking. Driving may be safer and accident-free thanks to these features. It's critical to remember that no vehicle can entirely prevent the possibility of an accident or harm. Yet, you may lower your risk of harm and improve your odds of surviving a collision by selecting a car with high safety ratings and cutting-edge safety features.

It's also crucial to remember that when buying an automobile, safety ratings are not the only thing to take into account. Together with these important ratings figures, you want to think about your own tastes, cost, and fuel economy.

What Should You Look for In Car Safety Ratings?

The age of the automobile is yet another key factor to consider. Safety features in older automobiles may stop working as well or become obsolete. Since they have more modern safety systems and are constructed with materials that are better able to resist collisions, newer automobiles are typically safer than older ones. It's crucial to look into a used car's safety records and past if you're thinking about buying one. On the NHTSA and IIHS websites, you can look up the vehicle's safety ratings. You can also look into the vehicle's history before buying a new vehicle. Such research might reveal whether the vehicle has a history of accidents or unresolved safety problems.

Maintaining your car's safety features will help to guarantee that they are functional. This includes routinely inspecting and repairing the tires, brakes, and headlights on your vehicle. Also, you should regularly have a licensed mechanic check your automobile to make sure that all of its safety measures are functioning properly. Furthermore, there are numerous steps you can take as a driver to increase your overall safety on the road. Simple practices such as always wearing your seatbelt, avoiding distracted driving, following traffic laws and never driving while intoxicated can exponentially increase your safety and the safety of those around you.

Keep Car Safety Top of Mind

While selecting an automobile, car safety ratings should certainly be taken into account. You may use them to make an educated decision when buying a car since they offer useful information on the safety features and crashworthiness of a vehicle. You should also consider other elements like fuel economy, price, and personal preferences since these are critical elements to ensure the overall comfort and enjoyment of your chosen vehicle. The ultimate objective of automotive safety ratings is to increase driving security and lower the possibility of collisions and injuries. You can contribute to making the roadways a safer place for everyone by choosing a car with excellent safety ratings and cutting-edge safety technologies, maintaining your car's safety features, and always practicing safe driving habits.

More resources